WhatsApp announces ‘Message Yourself’ feature: What is it and how it works

The ‘Message Yourself’ feature is a 1:1 chat window on WhatsApp for users to transfer media, documents, contacts and more to each other.

Meta-owned WhatsApp on Monday announced the launch of the “Message Yourself” feature. It’s a 1:1 chat with yourself so you can send notes, reminders and updates as needed, the company said in a statement. With this feature, WhatsApp users can track their tasks, send each other notes, reminders, shopping lists and so on on WhatsApp.

The Message Yourself feature on WhatsApp is rolling out gradually. It will be available to everyone on iOS and Android platforms in the coming weeks, the instant messaging platform announced.

It has always been possible to send texts to your own numbers on WhatsApp, but with the update, WhatsApp only makes the process more efficient. Previously, users could send messages to themselves using a “Click to Message” link or using a WhatsApp group where only I am a member.

After the new update, users can find the message function at the top of the contact list themselves to make it easier for users to access the chat if they don’t have one in the chat list. The user’s contact will be marked as “Username (You)” in the chat list.

How to use WhatsApp Message Yourself feature

Step 1: Open your WhatsApp

Step 2: Click on the action button in the lower right corner of the screen

Step 3: Users can find their contact at the top of the contact list

Step 4: Click on the contact to start messaging

This new feature is expected to help users in many ways. As a result, users may not need to download a special app to take notes and save links for later use. Since WhatsApp can be used on multiple devices, it would also help in transferring media, documents, contacts and more from one device to another.

Leave a Comment